At Hartley Primary Academy, we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and the National Curriculum for English and Mathematics in Key Stage 1 and 2. In addition, we adopt the principles of the Primary Years Programme (PYP) of the International Baccalaureate.

All of our pupils are encouraged to develop as life-long learners through the attributes set out in the IB Learner Profile, which describes a broad range of human capacities and responsibilities that go beyond academic success. At HPA, we aim to develop learners who are:

  • Inquirers
  • Knowledgeable
  • Thinkers
  • Communicators
  • Principled
  • Open-minded
  • Caring
  • Risk-takers
  • Balanced
  • Reflective

We aim to provide exciting learning opportunities, called ‘Learning Journeys’ through the delivery of six transdisciplinary themes over the course of an academic year. By following a concept and inquiry-driven curriculum, our children are given the opportunity to lead their own learning: they are presented with a ‘central idea’ each term and are given the opportunity to ask questions about it, which are then turned into lines of inquiry for the children to investigate.

Through its inquiry-led, transdisciplinary framework, the PYP challenges children to think for themselves and take responsibility for their learning as they explore local and global issues and opportunities in real-life contexts. By encouraging our learners to become more internationally-minded, we are preparing them not only for their transition into the next stages of their education, but to become global citizens of the 21st century.

Mrs. Smith

Curriculum Coordinator

error: Content is protected !!